Skip to content

Another Trip Around The Sun

December 30, 2010

Of course you can’t escape the predictions for the new year during this week. I’ve been reading a lot of them and have come up with a few that I’ve seen frequently and that I think have merit.

Cloud Computing – This has been something I’ve been intrigued with for some time now. Don’t think it’s the wave of the future?  Microsoft’s Steve Ballmer stated this year that over seventy percent of their employees are doing something related  cloud computing and probably over ninety percent soon.  The use of web-based apps can help small businesses save time and money. I’ll be checking out some accounting apps such as Yendo, Outright and Xero for small business which are little to no-cost solutions.

Increased spending on websites/ITIt was amazing to me to read that only about 30 percent of small business site included options for e-commerce.   With shopping cart options in WordPress and other low-cost shopping engines, it’s a relatively easy piece to add to a site with a big return.  Small businesses are in a great spot to take advantage of lower cost technologies that fit this group like a glove.  What is the first thing you do when you’re checking out a new product or service?  Check out their website?  Exactly.  Provide as much information and help your customer buy what they want, when they want and how they want.

SmartphonesOne of the companies I work with has a software provider that does not believe mobile technology is a priority.  Yet, this is one of the trends I see again and again in the 2011 predictions.  It’s also a trend I see for myself in my day-to-day living.  I check everything on my phone.  My time on my pc has dwindled to a few tasks while the greatest amount of my ‘online’ experience is on the phone.  It is predicted that one in three people will have phones with Web browsing and application download capabilities in 2011. Will your customers find you on their phones and/or will they be able to transact with you from mobile applications?

Local – We’ve all heard about the local checkin apps from Yelp, Gowalla and Foursquare.  With the increase in mobile technology and usage, it’s all about being local.  People are looking to relevant local solutions for their searches.  Do you find your business in local searches?  What about your advertising? Are you looking at working with local advertising options?

What are your predictions or comments for this next trip around the sun?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

